Theatre Under The Stars (TUTS) has announced the nominations for the 14th annual Tommy Tune Awards, which will be held on April 19 at 7:30 p.m. at The Hobby Center for the Performing Arts.

The Tommy Tune Awards recognize and reward excellence in the production of musical theatre by high school students and their teachers. After evaluating the 45 participating Houston-area high school productions during the 2015-2016 school year, a team of 30 Houston-based theatre professionals nominated 164 participants in 15 award categories.

Cy-Ranch’s “Chitty Chitty Bang Bang” was nominated in an amazing 11 categories:
1. Best Musical
2. Best Leading Actress – Grace Whaley
3. Best Supporting Actress – Sarah Bartholomew
4. Best Supporting Actor – Brendan Morrow & Michael Pham
5. Best Featured Performer – Chance Jarvis
6. Best Ensemble
7. Best Choreography
8. Best Costume Design
9. Best Direction
10. Best Musical Direction
11. Best Lighting Design


Cypress Ranch Theatre Film “blue” takes 2nd Place at State Film Festival!

AMAZING! The Traditional Animation Claymation film, “blue”, TOOK HOME 2nd PLACE AT THE STATE FILM FESTIVAL ON MARCH 2nd! Cy-Ranch REPRESENT!

CLICK HERE to see “blue” on YouTube

“blue”was written and directed by Brett Bellamy and Daryn Crowninshield; editing by Cole Andrews; sculptures by Alex Dave.

“Chrysalis” named National Thespian MusicalWorks Winner!

A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS is in order for Cy-Ranch’s Ryan Simon, who won the Texas Thespian Musicalworks competition in December with the opening number from his original musical “Chrysalis”. Ryan submitted a 10 minute cut for the National competition and was named National Thespian Musicalworks winner!

“Chrysalis” will be featured in a workshop by theatre professionals and the opening number will be showcased on the main stage at the International Thespian Festival, set for June 20-25 at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln.
The MusicalWorks honor is the second consecutive for Cypress Ranch, after graduate Cat Reynolds won in 2014-2015.

Chrysalis was performed by the following outstanding cast:
Brock Burnett
Carson Leonard
Sarah Bartholomew
Abby Weeks
Liam McGarity
Kendall Streets
Grace Whaley


“Haymarket Eight” ranks in top 28 UIL 6A One Act Plays in Texas.

A HUGE CONGRATULATIONS to the entire company of Haymarket 8 on another outstanding performance at Area Competition. Cypress Ranch was named alternate to Region. Although the road to state is over for Haymarket eight, placing alternate ranks Haymarket 8 as one of the top 28 UIL 6A one-act plays in Texas!
Honors in the final performance went to Grace Whaley for honorable mention all-star cast and Joshua Edwards was named to the all-star cast. Cypress Ranch also received Best Crew honors again with the crew of Cole Andrews, Cole Yates, Blake Dalton, Megan Sizemore, and Sam Haygood.

Congratulations on a great run to the entire company of Haymarket Eight!

Kiara Curtis named state finalist in UIL costume design!

CONGRATULATIONS KIARA! Kiara Curtis is a sophomore in our Technical Theatre program, currently in the 5th period Design class. She designed a costume for “Macbeth” for the UIL design competition. Her design was based in 1920’s Hungary during world war I. Her three costumes required for the UIL competition included designs for the characters Macbeth, Duncan, and Banquo. Using color, line, style, posing and determination she completed countless adjustments to produce a top quality design.


Theatre National Winners – International Thespian Festival June 2016:

Sound Design: Cole Andrews (1st Place – Nationals)
MusicWorks – Ryan Simon (1st Place Nationals Music Works Winner)
Solo Musical – Hailey Hughes (National Thespian Superior Ranking)
Solo Musical – Liam McGarity (National Thespian Superior Ranking)
Group Acting – Melanie Anderson, Brett Bellamy, Jazzlyn Gonzalez, Emily Hayes, Brianna Hyman, Miranda Lara, Haiden Maples, Lexie Martin, Jose Mogollon, Brendan Morrow, Morgan Simon, Ross Strickland, Mark Wadell, Caleb Wyrick, Cole Yates (Main Stage at Texas Thespians, and National Thespian Superior Ranking)
Group Musical – Sarah Bartholomew, Brock Burnett, Jackie Casby, Emily Deragon, Grant Deyoe, Joshua Edwards, Mallory Fondren, Max Foster, Chance Jarvis, Corey Jennings, Taylor Jerding, Carson Leonard, Ryan Simon, Kendall Streets, Abbey Weeks, Grace Whaley (National Thespian Superior Ranking)


Jose Mogollon – Texas Thespians Scholarship Recipient and full ride to DePaul University for Dramatury Program; Scholarship also to Carnegie-Mellon in Dramatury
Cole Andrews – Partial Theatre Scholarship to University of North Carolina School of the Arts (deferring scholarship 1 year as attending Lone Star in Fall)
Josh Edwards – Partial Theatre Scholarship to Blinn Jr. College
Caleb Wyrick – Partial Theatre Scholarhip to Blinn College